ATHE Level 5 Diploma in Computing (2024)

IntroductionEntry CriteriaQualification Content

The ATHE Level 5 Diploma in Computing (60-credit) offers learners a short but relatively extensive introduction to Level 5 computer management themes and issues. As an outcome, the Level 5 Diploma offers learners a common management foundation from which to explore the advanced technical skills and knowledge of each pathway and chosen optional unit.  

This is a core qualification available to existing and interested centres of ATHE.

Graded with Pass, Merit and Distinction.
Advanced learner loans available in the UK – to check if funding is available see the latest Qualification Catalogue here.
For the progression routes visit our progression routes page.

Delivery Mode
This qualification can be delivered either in the classroom, via distance learning or blended, part-time or full-time.

Qualification Specification
To view the specification, please click here.

Typical Age

This qualification is designed for learners who are typically aged 18 and above.


For learners who have recently been in education or training the entry profile is likely to include one of the following:

  • prior study in computing or related subjects at level 4 or above
  • a Level 4 qualification, for example, an ATHE Level 4 Diploma/Extended Diploma in Computing
  • other equivalent international qualifications


For those whom English is not their first language we recommend the following standards of proficiency in English language skills or an approved equivalent for this qualification:

  • IELTs 5.5
  • Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR) B2
  • Cambridge English Advanced (CAE) 162 or above
  • Pearson Test of English (PTE) Academic 42-49

Learners must complete all 4 mandatory units totalling 60 credits.

Unit NameUnit AimsCreditsMandatory
Computing Projects for Digital TransformationThis unit enables learners to begin to think about how digital transformation may benefit their organisation, their job role, or the day-to-day activities within their organisation or their team.  This understanding should be pathway neutral as learners at Level 5 will be expected to understand and contribute to plans for a digital transformation, regardless of their role.15Yes
Professional Development and Business CommunicationThis unit builds on the professional practice content first introduced in Level 4’s Unit 21 (Synoptic Project and Professional Best Practice) where learners considered team behaviours that contribute to effective working, written and oral communication and wider considerations such as ethical practice and an understanding of relevant legislation.
Because the IT industry is fast moving, practitioners should understand that working in this sector will necessitate continuous professional development (CPD), often including the updating of technical skills as well as the development of professional skills as practitioners are promoted.
Innovative Technologies and Connected DevicesThis unit aims to equip you with an e understanding of innovative technologies like AI, IoT, Blockchain, AR, VR, and the world of connected devices. You will explore their applications, understand their working principles, and learn about their implementation and ethical challenges. This knowledge and skill set will prepare you to navigate the ever-evolving digital landscape.15Yes
Information SystemsThis unit enables learners to examine a wide range of information systems that they will find in industry.

When working in industry, IT practitioners must be able to see the bigger picture, drawing on all of their knowledge and previous experiences to find the best and most viable solutions to the problem.  This is particularly important when working with non-technical managers who may not understand the technologies that they need to be able to perform their role.  Practitioners must be able to share their knowledge and understanding in an appropriate way to promote the use of data and information systems to support modern business and enterprise.