Level 5 Computing

ATHE Level 5 Diploma in Computing

The ATHE Level 5 Diploma in Computing is a 120 credit size qualification and is the equivalent level to the 2nd year of a degree.

You can download the Level 5 Computing Information Sheet here.

What does the qualification progress to? 
Learners who complete this qualification can progression onto a variety of Bachelor’s Degree Top-Up Programmes at a higher education institution including those where we have progression agreements. For more information, please visit our progression routes page.

This qualification is eligible for Advanced Learner Loans through the Education and Skills Funding Agency in the 2017-2018 session. Please see the Advanced learner loans qualifications catalogue 2017-2018 for more details.

What does this qualification cover?
Learners must complete ten mandatory units totalling 120 credits. Please click below to view the units within this qualification.

Units within this qualification
Title Level Credit GLH
Cyber Security 5 12 48
Database Design and Development 5 12 48
Web Based Development 5 12 48
Network Design 5 12 48
Ethical, Legal and Regulatory Issues and Professional Responsibilities in IT 5 12 48
Strategic Management Information Systems 5 12 48
Innovative Technologies in Computing 5 12 48
Computing Research Methods 5 12 48
Managing a Computing Project 5 12 48
Software Development Methodologies 5 12 48
Other qualification levels
Level 4
Qualification specifications
Level 4
Level 5