ATHE Level 7 Diploma in Healthcare Management


Change is a distinctive characteristic of the healthcare sector and it is the strategic managers who should be the first to respond to, and support positive transformation.

The ATHE level 7 qualifications in healthcare management provide strategic management skills for those planning to, or working in the healthcare sector both internationally and in the UK, including additional units that are specifically targeted at those working in the public sector.

At a glance:

  • The Diploma is 1,200 learning hours, usually studied over an academic year
  • Graded ‘Achieved’ or ‘Not achieved’
  • Designed with support from universities
  • Can be delivered in the classroom, by distance or by blended learning.


There are three different sizes of qualifications. If you study the 120-credit diploma then you must study all 5 mandatory units and select 3 or 4 optional units. If you study the 30-credit certificate then you must study any 2 of the “optional units for certificate” listed below. There are a variety of other awards made up of single units. To see the contents of the awards and each unit you can view the Qualification Specification.

Mandatory Units for Diploma (120 credits)

  • International Healthcare Policy
  • Managing Quality and Service Delivery
  • Leadership and Management
  • Research Project
  • Personal Leadership and Management Development


Optional units for Certificate (30 credits)

  • Organisational Behaviour
  • Manage Continuous Organisational Improvement
  • Developing Organisational Vision and Strategic Direction

Optional Units

  • Managing Finance in the Public Sector
  • Financial Decision Making for Managers
  • Human Resource Management
  • Project Management
  • Programme Leadership
  • Risk Management
  • Manage Sustainability in an Organisation
  • Strategic Planning
  • Managing Stakeholder Engagement
  • Leading Organisational Equality and Diversity

Entry Criteria

Age: 19 + Entry profile:

  • A first degree in a healthcare related subject
  • A level 6 qualification, for example an ATHE Diploma in Healthcare Management
  • Other equivalent international qualifications

Further Reading

  • Information Sheet – Level 7 Diploma in Healthcare Management
  • Qualification Specification – Level 7 Diploma in Healthcare Management
  • Request a Fee Structure relevant to your country


    Fee Structure